The Ursuline Secondary School has a student council for almost thirty years. We were among the earliest group of schools to introduce a student council. Like the school and indeed the country in which we live, this council has evolved over the years to become an essential part of our school. Here in the Ursuline Secondary School, we strive to give our students a voice and to listen to that voice. From input on school uniform to consultation regarding important school policies, the school council plays an important role in our school. In the past three years, we have expanded the council to include two prefects from each year group along with the core group of senior students from 6th Year.

The core council is selected from the fifth year group before Easter break. This involves applications from those interested, consultation with staff and year group before selecting the students to serve. These attend leadership training organised by the Ursuline education Officer, Sr. June Fennelly. The training takes place in the Ursuline Secondary School, Thurles, where representatives from all Ursuline schools are welcomed for a day of training. We also enjoying the hospitality of the school, especially from Sr. Bernadette who ensures no one leaves hungry!

The School Council is announced at an assembly where we also express our gratitude to the outgoing council. We relieve the sixth year of their responsibilities so that they can focus on the test ahead.

The Council meets in the school library once a week at lunchtime. Once a month, there is a meeting of the full Council with representatives from all year groups. If needed, the council can be called to meet to respond to the needs of the school.

Members are assigned to different year groups and the council will attend at least one Board of Management Meeting, where they are invited to give a report.

Currently, Mr Pat Carroll is the link teacher with the School Council.

Contact Us

Ursuline Secondary School Blackrock, Cork, T12HR04

Phone: 021 - 4358012

Email: ursulineschool@gmail.com

Useful Information

Opening Hours:
8.30am to 4.30pm

Mr Patrick McBeth

Deputy Principal:
Ms Paula Goggin

Useful Links